Chrono Trigger

13 Dec

Tick-Tock Tick-Tock, the looming sounds of what would be a foretelling theme that would follow me over the course of the next 20 hours. Welcome to Chrono Trigger the Review. Chrono Trigger is a Japanese RPG released back on March 11, 1995. Developed and Published by Squaresoft (presently Square-Enix) Chrono Trigger took an established genre and changed the game, literally. With a non-linear esque story and multiple endings Chrono trigger catapulted to critical and commercial success. The Critically acclaimed game was originally released on the SNES and was then ported to Sony’s Playstation in 1999; an important year in the game (NO SPOILERS HERE)

Box art for Chrono Trigger

Chrono Trigger became quite a rare game with lofty bids on ebay and other 3rd party sites selling the game sealed or unsealed for several hundreds and even thousands of dollars. It would seem that Chrono Trigger was truly a game sought after by many gamers. Publishers took some time but finally realized it was time to share this game with new gamers and released it on the Nintendo DS in 2008 followed by Virtual Console systems and Mobile Platforms. Chrono Trigger jumped out of the past and was ready for a slew of future gamers. I decided to pick the game up on my weapon of choice the Purple Nintendo 3DS. I chose the 3DS not because I enjoyed playing it on a smaller screen but the DS edition had mini anime clips by legendary artist Akira Toriyama (DragonBall) and sported a Multiplayer mode the latter was not as cool or in depth as it sounded. I also found dual screens to be a great way to play any RPG new or old; enough with the history lets dive into the review.

Weapon of choice.

Weapon of choice.

I want to start by saying I am a speed RPGer/Gamer. I enjoy games that last 8-15 hours tell a great story and require little exploration. Just to validate myself I have played several Final Fantasy games, several Kingdom Hearts games, do we consider pokemon an RPG? I digress, I found Chrono Trigger to be an amazing game that gently pushed me to level my characters up without the feeling that I was grinding simply to beat the next boss.

Visuals: Chrono Trigger is an old game, it looks like an old game, but if you take a step back you will see more characters on screen and such attention to detail that the polygon count becomes irrelevant. I found myself getting lost in the Pre-historic era with caves, trees, and dinosaurs and just when I thought I was bored of the area I get warped to an Apocalyptic future that is bleak and crawling with mutants. Gorgeous Anime cut scenes aside the characters were alive and felt human or froggish depending on your character choice. Even in 2012 I felt that this game was gorgeous to look at and didn’t detract from my experience.

Story: Flat out amazing! Like most JRPGs you are a boy out to save the world with your rag tag team. The difference in Chrono Trigger is the that rag tag team of yours consists of a Frog, Nerd, Princess, Robot, Leopard Lady, and a final character which ( WE WON’T SPOIL HERE). The actions you do in one Era may drastically affect another era so be careful and explore. Talk to people, feed the animals, and go with your gut. There are dozens of endings and something you may have thought was insignificant may turn out to cost someone you love their life!

Gameplay: Whether you use Chrono Triggers live battle system or the old school turn based system Chrono Trigger does an excellent job creating a game for any player. I found myself switching play styles on my DS depending on which boss I was playing. Teams also play a huge role in the game on two levels. The first is team based attacks, the more you use a team the more powerful they become, they even gain the ability to fuse attacks for greater damage. The second level is the fact that the enemies are so diverse that one team or player may be the MVP against a boss but can’t do a lick of damage to a normal enemy you bump into. This truly helps you mix up the game and nothing ever feels stagnant.

Test of Time : As stated above, I am not an RPGer. I will likely never play this game again. I sunk 20+ hours into this game and had a journey. I did not get the perfect ending, I did not reach Max levels with any players; in fact I beat Lavos by the skin of my teeth after fighting him 17 times. That said I felt that this was an amazing game and one that I wish I had played sooner in my gaming life. Chrono Trigger will stick with me when I start playing my next RPG (The world ends with you, Persona 4 Golden, XenoBlade?) I am still deciding. I just know that anytime I see or play a Role Playing game I will always look for some similarities of Chrono Trigger.

BROS System:

Buy Rent or Skip

Cy:Buy!

Kem:Buy!

Leave a Reply

